This is the "Home" page of the "Domestic Violence Resource Guide - Northeast" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Domestic Violence Resource Guide - Northeast  

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
to have and to hurt
Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 I574 2006
ISBN: 0275989674
The prevalence, risk factors for becoming a target, medical and psychological consequences, legal issues and effective treatments for recovery. Appendices include Safety recommendations for victims of intimate partner violence and Legal and advocacy resources.

Cover Art
Why does he do that? : inside the minds of angry and controlling men
Call Number: HV6626.2 .B255 2002
ISBN: 0399148442
Describes warning signs to look for early in a relationship; what is and isn't abusive behavior; how to know if a woman and her children are in danger; and how to tell when a man is really changing.

Cover Art
When dad hurts mom: helping your children heal the wounds of witnessing abuse
Call Number: HV6626.2 .B254 2004
ISBN: 0399151109
Offers comfort, understanding, and a concrete plan of action to any woman concerned about the distress being caused to her children by her angry, controlling, or abusive partner. Written for mothers, this book aims to enlighten women about the effects of abuse on children, how an abusive partner distorts familial relationships, and what can be done about it.

Cover Art
To have and to hurt : recognizing and changing, or escaping, patterns of abuse in intimate relationships
Call Number: HV6626 .B77 2007
ISBN: 0275997200
When Cathy and John married 20 years ago, the relationship seemed almost charmed. But over the years as John's career became more established and Cathy raised the family of three children, things changed. First angry fights developed, followed by verbal and gestured threats of violence, and later, actual physical attacks and injuries.

Cover Art
Family violence : legal, medical, and social perspectives
Call Number: HV6626.2 .W35 2008
ISBN: 0205573541
This book presents a comprehensive introduction to the study of family violence and discusses current controversies in the field from three perspectiveslegal, medical, and social.Includes separate chapters on specialized topics such as ritualistic abuse, gay and lesbian abuse, and victims'rights. Only text on the market to provide thorough coverage of stalking, sexual harassment, and sexual violence in the workplace.

Cover Art
The domestic violence sourcebook
Call Number: HQ809 .B47 2000
ISBN: 0737304197
A comprehensive, compassionate look at domestic violence--including historical, psychological, social, familial, and legal issues--this well-organized, accessible book offers the most current information available on prevention and recovery, along with practical steps for escaping a violent domestic situation.

Cover Art
Domestic violence
Call Number: HV6626 .D634 2009
ISBN: 0737742062
Presents a collection of essays offering varying viewpoints on the subject of domestic violence, including coverage of sibling abuse, same-sex domestic violence, and elderly abuse.

Cover Art
Truth and prejudice : men's experiences of domestic violence
Call Number: HV6626.2 .C73 2006
ISBN: 1420883399
Domestic violence is a serious social problem that is heart-breaking to each and every victim who experiences the abuse. However, it has hitherto been depicted in a misleading manner, by portraying men as always the perpetrators and women always the victims.

Cover Art
Ditch that jerk : dealing with men who control and hurt women
ISBN: 0897932838
Neither weighed down by research nor weightless with airy promises, Ditch That Jerk is a gritty, honest, and most of all experienced view of physical and emotional abusers and their effect on victims. Engagingly written, it shows women how to assess their partners and relationships for potential abuse, and for potential change -- or not.

Cover Art
Something is wrong at my house : a book about parents' fighting - Diane Davis
Call Number: PZ7.D28587 So 2010
ISBN: 9781884734656
How can kids understand -- and cope -- when their parents fight? Based on a true story, this 32-page book shows a child seeking, and finally obtaining, help in a domestic violence situation. Written so that it can be used with both the very young, and the school-age child, Something Is Wrong at My House provides brief text with illustrations on one page of each two-page spread, and more detailed information on the facing page. Ideal for use by school nurses, counselors, social workers and teachers, and by therapists, and the staff in shelters. (from Google)

Cover Art
Child abuse and domestic violence - Melissa J. Doak
Call Number: HV6626.52 .C44 2009
ISBN: 1414433719

 

DVDs 1

Hostages at Home DVD

HV6626 .H831 1994

This 52 minute video has been called the "Text-Book Video" on the subject of domestic violence. Easily adapted to any community awareness program or women's shelter, Hostages at Home features five women from different ethnic and socioeconomic groups who have survived domestic violence. This program dispels myths about domestic violence and examines the effects on the community as a health issue.

When Love Hurts: Understanding and Healing Domestic Abuse

BV4445.5 .W54 2007

The heart of God is to protect the vulnerable. --Dr. Steven Tracy When a bride says I do, she doesn't expect violence to scar her marriage. For many women, though, that is the case as their dream home becomes an emotional prison, a jail cell filled with feelings of powerlessness and worthlessness. You probably know someone who is subject to verbal, physical, or sexual abuse because statistically, 25% of Christian women are victims. It might be a neighbor, a daughter, a sister, or even a friend. Does the God of the Bible have answers meaningful and redemptive solutions to this pain and suffering? When Love Hurts, a powerful 4-part series from Day of Discovery television, pulls back the curtain on the dark secrets of abuse and offers hope and help to those trapped in its painful cycle.  (From Amazon)

Hidden victims children of domestic violence

HV6626.2 .H54 1999

The devestating impact domestic violence can wage against the children who witness it is examined during this painfully important hour. Documentary crews follow the lives of four families with children, exploring the short and long-term effect that witnessing domestic abuse will have on the lives of these hidden victims.  (From IMDb)

 

Posters

Stop the cycle of Abuse

MI 9.1

30000038279703

Every Home a Safe Home

MI 8.2

30000038280842

 

Remember My Name

MI 8.3 / MI 8.6 / MI 8.5/ MI 8.4

30000038280677

30000038280859

30000038280792

30000038280735

 

 

Domestic Violence

This article is kindly provided by and is the property of Glo Magazine. Taken from the most recent October issue http://www.the-papers.com/OnlineIssue.aspx?pub=glo  http://www.the-papers.com/OnlineIssue.aspx?pub=glo&ed=&issue=glo-10-01-11

Online Resourses

  • Indiana Caolition Against Domestic Violence
    ICADV believes that violence is endemic to our society. We believe patriarchal values and attitudes support and perpetuate violence and we seek to confront the roots of that violence within ourselves and within larger economic, social and political systems.
  • Indiana Domestic Violence Centers
    List of Indiana Domestic Violence Shelters
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE
    The National Domestic Violence Hotline was established in 1996 as a component of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) passed by Congress. The Hotline is a nonprofit organization that provides crisis intervention, information and referral to victims of domestic violence, perpetrators, friends and families.The Hotline answers a variety of calls and is a resource for domestic violence advocates government officials, law enforcement agencies and the general public.
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics: Female Victims of Violence
    This electronic publication provides information on nonfatal and fatal intimate partner violence, characteristics of rape and sexual assault, and characteristics of stalking. Definitions of violence crime (homicide, rape, assault) are included.
  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC): Violence Prevention
    The Violence Prevention site provides information on Intimate Partner Violence (IPV) and Sexual Violence. Information is categorized under four areas for each section. IPV offers “General Information” on a variety of topics, including Understanding Intimate Partner Violence, Preventing Violence Against Women, and the World Report on Violence and Health.
  • United States Department of Justice: Intimate Partner Violence
    Provides information on the types of intimate partner violence. Causes and Consequences, Intervention Strategies, Shelters, Murder, Suicide (risk factors, role of guns) are also covered. This site also provides links for special populations: African-American, Latino, Asian/Pacific Island, and the deaf.
  • United States Department of Justice: Office on Violence Against Women
    The Office on Violence Against Women (OVW) was created in 1995 and seeks to erase several types of violence against women (domestic, dating, sexual). The site provides information on Help for Victims, including telephone numbers and links to other sites. Additional information is provided on Domestic Violence, Sexual Assault, and Stalking; definitions; publications; and other resources are also included. OVW administers numerous grants and information is available on the variety of grants.
  • Battered Women’s Justice Project
    Access is provided to the Battered Women’s Justice Project, the National Clearinghouse for the Defense of Battered Women, and the National Center on Full Faith and Credit. Each section provides information on their duties. The Battered Women’s Justice Project presents information on murder/suicide, what police should know about arresting domestic violence suspects, economic stress and domestic violence, and how to assist battered women who stay.
  • CRS Report for Congress: International Violence Against Women: U.S. Response and Policy Issues
    This site provides information on the Types of Violence women face worldwide, the Key Issues of the subject, Social and Health Consequences, Administration Efforts, Selected United Nations and other International Efforts, Current and Emerging Issues, and U.S. legislation dealing with the topic.
  • Emedicinehealth: Sexual Assault
    A premier site on topics dealing with a sexual assault: What to do, Treatment, Forms of Sexual Assault, and Preventing an Assault.
  • National Center for Victims of Crime
    The National Center for Victims of Crime is a nonprofit organization that advocates for victims' rights, trains professionals who work with victims, and serves as a trusted source of information on victims' issues.
  • National Coalition Against Domestic Violence
    This site provides information on how victims can protect themselves, including workplace and legal guidelines. Legislative priorities, Laws (state, national, international), and Programs (Financial, Reconstructive Surgery). The Resource section provides a wealth of information, including fact sheets, state coalitions, organizations, position papers, and publications.
  • National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)
    Founded by the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, NSVRC opened in 2000. This site provides a Resource Center library, which provides access to the collections from NSVRC and the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape. The site also provides information on activities of the center, including Projects, Publications (types and topics are numerous), Organizations, News, and Opportunities.
  • Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network (RAINN)
    RAINN is the nation’s largest organization dealing with sexual assault. This easy-to-use Web site provides ways to Get Help, Get Info, and Get Involved. The News Room provides resources including multimedia, press releases, statistics, and speakers.
  • Toolkit to End Violence Against Women
    This site provides 16 chapters on combating violence against women. Each chapter discusses a specific issue from Strengthening Community-Based Services and Advocacy for Victims to The United States Within the International Community-Responding to Trafficking in Persons. Additional chapters highlight violence against women in the military, Native American women, and violence in sports.
  • United Nations Development Fund for Women: UNIFEM: Violence Against Women.
    Established in 1976, UNIFEM works to advance women’s rights and create gender equality. Statistics are reported on several areas, including Trafficking, HIV/AIDS and Violence, and Crimes Against Women in Situations of Armed Conflict. This site provides links to numerous articles of the United Nations and UNIFEM dealing with violence and women.
  • World Health Organization: Female Genital Mutilation
    This site provides the key facts concerning female genital mutilation. Discusses the four major types of mutilation (Clitoridectomy, Excision, Infibulation, and Other), Causes, and Justification.
  • Domestic Violence Shelters In Indiana
 

10 shocking doestic violence statistics

 

According to You--Orianthi

 

Journals & Magazines

 Family & intimate partner violence quarterly  (1941-7462)
      
from 01/01/2010 to present in Associates Programs Source Plus
Family violence prevention and health practice
      
from 01/01/2005 to present in Freely Accessible Social Science Journals
from 01/01/2010 to present in Associates Programs Source Plus
Journal of family violence  (0885-7482)
      
from 03/01/1997 to 1 year ago in EBSCO Academic Search Premier and EBSCO Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
from 04/01/2004 to 1 year ago in Gale Health Reference Center Academic and Gale Nursing & Allied Health Collection
from 02/01/2005 to 1 year ago in Nursing & Allied Health Source and ProQuest Research Library
Psychology of violence  (2152-0828)
      
from 2010 to present in EBSCO PsycARTICLES
in EBSCO PsycARTICLES
Stalking and domestic violence
      
in U.S. Government Documents
  Violence and victims  (0886-6708)
      
from 01/01/1986 to present in ProQuest Research Library
  Child abuse review (Chichester, England : 1992)  (0952-9136)
      
from 04/01/1992 to 1 year ago in EBSCO Academic Search Premier
  Journal of child sexual abuse  (1053-8712)
      
from 04/01/1995 to 12/31/1997 in Nursing & Allied Health Source and ProQuest Research Library
 

Miscellaneous

Facing Diversity: Responding to Violence Against Women from Diverse Cultures DVD

HV6626 .F33 2000


Each year, millions of women immigrate to the United States and Canada who are victims of domestic violence in their former countries of residence, as well as their new homes in North America.

Facing Diversity helps to raise awareness of the issues and barriers faced by women from diverse cultures as they deal with the domestic violence in their lives. It illustrates specific, culturally-sensitive practices for police, prosecutors, and victim advocates in order to support and assist women to end the violence. Examples from Hispanic, East Asian and South Asian cultures are shown as women learn to obtain relief from violence, deal with the reality of their situation and navigate the justice and court systems.

No Safe Place: The Origins of Violence Against Women (DVD)

HV 6626.2 .N67 1996

Includes several moving vignettes of women who have been assaulted, as well as interviews with the men who commit the most intimate crimes.  Goes behind the headlines and statistics to explore the origins of violence against women.  No Safe Place stresses that women learn early that there are some things they cannot or rather, should not do, and some places they should not go.  Also answers some of the most asked questions about domestic violence, including: P Is there a profile of men who batter their partners? P Why do not women leave abusive relationships? P How does domestic violence affect children? P and many more.  Includes a speech by Denise Brown (Nicole Brown-Simpson's sister) who is a major spokesperson for the prevention of violence against women.

Make a Difference: Report Child Abuse and Neglect (DVD)

HV 742 .I6 M35 1996

Child abuse and neglect are discussed with professionals who share information about what to do if abuse is suspected, the indicators of abuse/neglect, and the impact on society.

V-Day - Until the Violence Stops

 

 

Domestic Violence is not a problem

 

Books and A/V

Cover Art
The bully in your relationship : stop emotional abuse and get the love you deserve
Call Number: BF637 .B85T47 2007
ISBN: 0071481362
Maybe it's your husband, wife, partner, boyfriend, or girlfriend. Maybe you feel you're being belittled or berated, manipulated, or controlled. Maybe you try to shrug it off, telling yourself it's not so bad. The truth is: You are a victim of emotional abuse--but you don't have to take it anymore.

Cover Art
Color atlas of domestic violence
Call Number: HQ809.3 .C65 2004
ISBN: 0323017142
The Color Atlas of Domestic Violence is the first text to look specifically and comprehensively at the injuries frequently seen as a result of domestic violence. This atlas provides a visual aid for the examination, identification, and documentation of domestic injuries. It includes extensive visual content, as well as content on the cycles of violence and epidemiology of domestic violence.

Cover Art
The verbally abusive relationship : how to recognize it and how to respond
Call Number: BF637 .I48E9211 1992
ISBN: 1558501339
Describes the destructive effects of verbal abuse, tells how to evaluate one's own relationship, and gives advice on responding to and recovering from this form of psychological abuse.

Cover Art
Dangerous relationships : how to identify and respond to the seven warning signs of a troubled relationship
Call Number: HV6626.2 .N47 2001
ISBN: 073820465X
"A powerful and important book!…Dangerous Relationships could be a life saver."-Susan Forward, Therapist and Author, Men Who Hate Women & The Women Who Love Them and Toxic Parents"I would highly recommend this book to anyone who may be in a violent relationship, or to a relative or close personal friend who has concerns about the safety of someone they love."-Diane P. McGauley, Executive Director, The Family Place, Chair, Texas Council on Family Violence Possessiveness, insensitivity, and a sudden personality change are all warning signs of a potential abuser.

Cover Art
Violent partners : a breakthrough plan for ending the cycle of abuse
Call Number: HV6626.2 .M58 2008
ISBN: 0465045774
A radical new take on the crisis of intimate abuse, Violent Partners argues that as a culture we misunderstand the root causes and basic effects of abuse, and until that changes there is no hope of fixing the problem. Dr. Linda Mills challenges assumptions, tears down myths, and offer solutions, all the while telling riveting stories of couples who have conquered violence in their relationships. In Violent Partners, she describes several programs that hold promise for addressing intimate abuse, including two nationally known and groundbreaking treatment programs-Peacemaking Circles and Healing Circles.

Cover Art
Abused men : the hidden side of domestic violence
Call Number: HV6626.2 .C65 2009
ISBN: 0313356181
An award-winning investigative journalist provides a disturbing new look at an underreported type of domestic violence-the abuse of men.

Cover Art
Domestic violence : the 12 things you aren't supposed to know
Call Number: HQ809 .J36 2003
ISBN: 1593301227
Is domestic violence strictly a male phenomenon? Are all women who abuse their partners acting in self-defense? Is domestic violence about male privilege, power and control? In this book, the author conducts a meticulous and thorough examination of the research on domestic violence, coming to the unsettling conclusion that virtually everything we think we know about domestic violence is wrong. Exposing evidence of a deliberate governmental campaign to distort the truth and proliferate lies, he explains why honesty and candor are our only real hope for bringing an end to this enormous social problem.

Cover Art
Family violence - Nancy Dziedzic
Call Number: HV6626 .F33 2009
ISBN: 9780737732832
Essays answer questions regarding the definition, different forms, causes, and possible solutions of family violence involving couples, siblings, gays and lesbians, and the elderly. (from Google)

Cover Art
Domestic violence sourcebook
Call Number: HV6626.2 .D685 2009
ISBN: 0780810384
"Provides basic consumer health information about the physical, mental, and social effects of violence against intimate partners, children, teens, parents, and the elderly, along with prevention and intervention strategies. (from Google)

Cover Art
A brother's journey : surviving a childhood of abuse - Richard B. Pelzer
Call Number: HV883 .C2P43 2005
ISBN: 0446533688
The story of how one little boy found the courage to survive years of physical abuse-- and how the human spirit can triumph over even the most severe of circumstances. The Pelzer family's secret life of fear and abuse was first revealed in Dave Pelzer's inspiring New York Times bestseller, A Child Called "It," followed by The Lost Child and A Man Called Dave. Here, for the first time, Richard Pelzer tells the courageous and moving story of his abusive childhood. From tormenting his brother David to becoming himself the focus of his mother's wrath to his ultimate liberation-- here is a horrifying glimpse at what existed behind closed doors in the Pelzer home. Equally important, Richard Pelzer's touching account is a testament to the strength of the human heart and its capacity to triumph over almost unimaginable trauma. (from Google)

 

DVDs 2

Telling Amy's Story

HV 6626.22 .P4 T4 2010

Telling Amy's Story follows the timeline of a domestic violence homicide that occurred in central Pennsylvania on November 8, 2001. Amy's parents, co-workers, law enforcement officers, and court personnel share their perspectives on what happened to Amy in the weeks, months, and years leading up to her death.

 

Sin by Silence

HV 6626.2 .S556 2009

Inside the California Institution for Women, the first inmate initiated and led group in U.S. prison history, shatters the misconceptions of domestic violence.

Convicted Women Against Abuse (CWAA) was created in 1989 to help women inside prison break the silence about abuse and learn more about what they needed to do to help others stop the cycle of violence.

Instead of fighting a system that does not fully comprehend the complexities of abuse, the women of CWAA led an initiative to help educate the system. Through careful orchestration of letter writing campaigns, media coverage, and senate hearings a movement was born and laws for battered women were changed. And for the founder of CWAA, the flicker of hope begins to grow as her possible freedom, after 26 years in prison, lies moments away. (From www.sinbysilence.com)

 

Domestic Abuse and Children

Cover Art
Child abuse - Heidi Williams
Call Number: HV6626.5 .C4716 2009
ISBN: 0737743549
Discusses the seriousness of the problem in the United States, measures that can be taken to reduce child abuse, and the effectiveness and legality of laws regarding child abusers. (from Google)

Cover Art
The Unbreakable Child - Kim Michele Richardson
Call Number: HV983 .R53 2009
ISBN: 160164163X
Grim yet ultimately inspiring, this harrowing biography catalogs years of institutional abuse that took place in the Saint Thomas–Saint Vincent Orphan Asylum, a Catholic orphanage in Anchorage, Kentucky. After many years of neglect by their drug-addicted mother, Kim and her three older sisters were abandoned to the uncharitable care of the Sisters of Charity. Detailing daily regimens of physical and mental abuse at the hands of the nuns, this chilling memoir explains how the Roman Catholic Church kept the orphanage hidden from prying eyes, miles from any main thoroughfare, allowing mistreatment to continue for decades. Describing her life through adulthood and the decision to finally expose the injustices after more than 30 years, this courageous tale chronicles the lawsuit initiated by 45 survivors, the two years of litigation, and the first successful prosecution of a lawsuit against Roman Catholic nuns in the US for decades of abuse in an orphanage. (from Google)

Cover Art
Understanding Child Abuse and Neglect - Cynthia Crosson-Tower
Call Number: HV6626.52 .T69 2009
ISBN: 0205769152
This best-selling text offers a comprehensive look at child maltreatment and incorporates history, case vignettes, and the author's own experience as a child protection worker. The author covers the history of child welfare, and neglect. In addition, Understanding Child Abuse and Neglect explains case management procedures and focuses on how various professionals become involved in the child protection process and how treatment is undertaken. The text concludes with an overview of functional and dysfunctional families, and contrasts healthy child development with development hampered by abuse. (from Google)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip